A Free Innovative Course on Memory

camera-660090_1920

Understanding memory is crucial for shock survivors to know what happened to them, identify their weaknesses, advocate for themselves and develop coping strategies.

Unfortunately, this aspect of human cognition is infinitely complex and grasping how it works is even harder with brain damage.

I would know, I’ve been trying to understand it for the last decade. Countless books and even a semester of psych 1101 and I still have trouble keeping the different types of memory straight.

I’ve mentioned the wonders of Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) for alternative education opportunities for shock survivors in a previous post . I’ve been fairly active with the Coursera platform. I got an email last week of courses starting soon and a class on memory caught my attention:

Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

This course requires no psychology background. The instructor uses a clever method for explaining the many facets of memory by using something we are all familiar with: movies.

I’ve taken the first week and so far so good. The content is well designed and easy to follow.

If you’re a shock survivor or the friend or loved one of a shock survivor, I encourage you to take this course.

It’s easy!

  1. Go to Coursera.org and make an account
  2. search Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies and click ‘enroll button’

There are several options for taking the course:

  • watch the videos and take the quizzes for a statement of accomplishment (free)
  • just watch the videos (free)
  • do all the things and pay $49 for certification

Because shock damage usually requires LOTS of repetition to learn and retain new information, I enter in the key points of whatever course I’m taking into Quizlet; a free flashcard study program/app that I can drill myself with until whatever I’m studying sticks.

Happy learning 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Free Innovative Course on Memory

  1. Hi Jane, Movies? Nope. Good thing I have a super good memory. I never went to movies and do not know a thing about movies. Not one. Nor TV. I don’t recognize the “stars” everyone else knows. Does that make me an oddball?

    To me, I have my own heroes, those that I know personally and admire. My late parents, who taught me well, my late boyfriend, and my dog, who is now sitting beside me, my best friend. I think that’s all the “stars” I need.

    Here’s my baby: http://www.psychsearch.net/selfies/ You will need to scroll down…..You’ll know which one is Puzzle.

    Julie

    Like

    • Correction *most people know movies 😉 I would say that’s an accomplishment to not watch or know them. I’ve always loved movies so it’s a great strategy for me. And pets are the best 🙂 your dog looks very sweet.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Awww. She is! I admit I was partially named after Julie Andrews, but this was after her Broadway stage appearances, and prior to the release of Mary Poppins. My mom took me to that when it came out in 1964. I was the perfect age…..six! And I became a nanny, too, inspired by a woman who made everything fun, and came from the sky. I hate to admit, though, Puzzle and I are rusty at umbrella-flying these days. Last time, I had a key in my pocket and we nearly got, er, struck by lightning. How shocking. That’s why, to this day, Puzzle’s hair stand up on end.

        Julie

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

