Waiting on the FDA

My comments to the FDA posted on the shock machine reclassification docket on April 25th. I have been struggling with PTSD since writing it and have been too triggered to check it to ensure my content is all there.

Today I finally gave it a once over and my statement looks intact.
I wish I could say I’m relieved, but I’m not.

The whole reclassification situation coupled with my regular encounters with brain washed doctors and lay people has sparked painful memories and fear for my safety and the safety of others should this reclassification pass.

I’m so freaked out, I’ve even decided to get an advanced directive that declares “no electroshock under any circumstance” should I, God forbid, ever get tangled
up in psychiatry again. However, I take little solace in this protection because it can be easily overridden by the opinion of two doctors, but what else can I do?

I’m not alone in this worry; now the dockets have closed, survivors who have responded to FDA have had to relive their own electroshock traumas, submit their thoughts and experiences to an agency with questionable motives and anxiously wait for the FDA’s next move.

A survivor recently shared her interaction with the FDA ombudsman about her concern over the agencies silence since the dockets closed via her email newsletter.

The ombudsman’s reply:


The world waits as well, as this decision will no doubt impact every country.

If you’re new to this situation, please check out the links below to catch up:

review the history and the law

The FDA’s failure to perform recommended testing in 2011

Only 72 Hours Left to Say #FDAStopTheShockDevice

The letter to the FDA ombudsman

And if you haven’t signed the Mindfreedom petition protesting this outrageous reclassification attempt by the the FDA, please consider giving it your John Hancock and sharing.

Thank you 🙂

One thought on “Waiting on the FDA

  1. Jane, Thanks for sharing your experience with having your comments posted. That I know of, mine have not been yet. I didn’t find writing it traumatizing at all but that’s just my individual experience. I can’t say I relived it while writing. I relived writing, that is, the process of creating, putting a memory to words. I found it all satisfying to know I was nailing the bastards. Or fooling myself into thinking I was.

    Just getting our voices out there, this matters, we matter. Anyone can read our words now. That’s so essential to get out stories out in the public eye. Not just opinion, but actual stories, events, details of what occurred. and how we felt about it. I’m sure the trauma shows up in your words. That can only be a good thing, since it is quite clear, in words, for others to see the effects of ECT.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

